How to make Basic Outfits Stylish, with Accessories

“Cute accessories always help bring out your outfit and pull it all together. “
-Ciara

Sometimes, wanting to be stylish can be expensive. I was literally gawking at Cardi B as she was killing it at Paris Fashion week. Admiring all her amazing and wild outfits and wanting to be just as fashionable. But sadly I am not able to afford even quarter of the clothes and outfits she displays all over Instagram for obvious reasons.

However, does that mean I should make do with looking scrappy and unflattering due to how much I have in my bank account? Of course not, and I am not going to start now!

Instead I make do with what I have, and in today’s post, I’ll be showing you ways that you can make some of your favorite plain outfits into a truly stunning attire, by simply accessorizing.

In jeans and a t-shirt:

Majorly, T-shirt and a pair of jeans is the go-to outfit: it’s simple, comfortable but not lazy, and it can be used for almost all situations; school, going out with friends, parties, even to stay in your own home. However, because how comfortable it is, people often take advantage of that and end up appearing bland – even when they don’t want to.


Look at this model for instance; I mean yes she does seem adorable in the basic Tee and jeans, but she appears too casual.

This looks like something one could stay at home in (that is if you are one those super humans who have the capability to be comfortable in skinny jeans), but to actually go out in this basic attire just makes you come off across as lazy and unconcerned of your appearance.


Be that as it may, I combined the outfit with some basic accessories to turn the model form looking sluggish to a woman of simple style.


Making use of some sunglasses, a hand bag and basic jewelry changes the appearance of the look by a complete 180⁰. The model appears chic and stylish because of the contrast these items bring to the clothes she wears.

With the nonchalant feel of the t-shirt and jeans mixed with the swank the accessories bring, the model gives off the feel of effortless style, putting forth the fact, even though I mean to look casual, I can be voguish as well.

Keeping it Formal:

Some people believe that due to how strenuous their work life may be, they simply can’t find the time to put together something fashionable for their work place, and other seem not to care at all about looking stylish, declaring that it’s about getting the work done and not about looks. Well, I have never agreed and disagreed to something as much as I do about these points of view.


Indeed, our work lives can be tedious in one way or the other, but that does not mean one should appear drab at work because of that.


In this picture, the model does appear work-ready, but her outfit gives off the feel of incompleteness – like something is missing from the whole ensemble.


However, in this picture I tried to fill that deficient feel with use of a mini purse and some jewelry. Since I wanted to keep the look corporate, I did not use so much, just so we can still have that formality from this ensemble.

With the help of these accessories, it tones down the serious nature of the outfit just a little bit, so that the model can be able to put forth a friendly and happy vibe, even though she is at the work place.

The very famous Black Dress:

I believe that every girl has that one black dress that she adores and simply looks awesome in, and I completely recommend getting one if you don’t because you’ll never regret it..

Still, sometimes girls just think that black dress and some cute shoes are the only items they need to have a killer outfit, I’m sad to say that is not true – and believe me I learned that the hard way!

To illustrate, in this picture, the model does look cute, but that’s just where it stops.

The black dress does bring out all her features but because of how plain this attire is, she doesn’t put forth the amount of sassy to be able to rock this outfit.

Rather she just looks like she grabbed the first thing in her closet in hopes that she appears “good enough” to get through the day.


However, by incorporating some of accessories to this outfit, she goes from simple cute girl to boss lady.

The accessories make the model look more powerful and elegant without her having to try. They allow her to exude confidence, which give her the sense of pride and class that she needed to be able to pull off her favorite black dress.

The handbag especially aids in bringing balance by adding its vibrant colors that contrast with the dress.

One cannot help but gawk and wow at her as she crosses their path because of how she makes such a basic & plain dress look so exquisite.

All in all, what I am basically trying to say is you don’t need to use up all your money just to look fashionable and unique. And just because you’re not as rich as your favorite celebrities, doesn’t mean you should appear bland and unappealing either.

You can make do with what you already have by putting forth your fashionable side, with the help of accessorizing.

I bet that you can even check your closet right now to find some great items that could make your next outfit go from stale to astonishing.

So what do you think of the Outfits?

How do you feel about accessorizing your basic outfits? Which other outfit ideas do you have to incorporate some accessories?

You guys are free to share your thoughts and more in the comment section below. I would love to see them and get a chance to interact with you, and if you have any question, just let me know.

You guys, I don’t know if you noticed but *drum roll* I finally got my very own DOMAIN NAME!!! From now on my website will be chikastyledthis.com This is so exciting!

I just want to once again thank EVERY SINGLE PERSON who has supported my blog in one way or the other. Thank you to you all for giving me the chance to share my passion to the world.

Also, I wanted to start something. I want to give you guys the oppurtunity to pick what I am going to write about next. I’m calling it The Outfit Challenge.

Basically what I want from you guys is comment some outfit ideas, that you would like to see me style. It can be as crazy and as wild as you want, and we’ll see together if I am really that good at styling.

So thanks so much for everthing! Until next time. Later loves.

This post was featured on Links à la Mode fashion roundup by Independent Fashion Bloggers.

More fashion articles:

SPONSOR: Amazon’s Shopbop, Club Monaco, Levi’s Clothing, Fila Shoes, Alexa Chung, Mads Norgaard Copenhagen, B Sides, Bombers, Western Boots, Chain Jewelry, Men’s Howlin’

Published by

Chika Yvonne

So basically, I'm this quirky, fun-loving, crazy individual who is so in love with everything fashion and style! Join me on this fascinating journey into my personal fashion and style.

5 thoughts on “How to make Basic Outfits Stylish, with Accessories”

Leave a comment