Going back to the 50s…but with Ankara

“Dress shabbily and they
remember the dress;
dress impeccably and they
remember the woman.”

– Coco chanel

I am a big fan of early and mid-20th century fashion. It’s one of the reasons why I love this show called the marvellous Mrs Maisel so much: the clothes she wears in the show leave me in amazement. I think that era was a great time for fashion. However, I’m not oblivious to the fact that the period was not the most pleasant for black and African people, which I am. So you will never catch me saying stuff along the lines of “I wish I was born in that time” or “I was born in the wrong generation”.

Still, that won’t stop me from expressing my love for the styles of that time, which is what I seek to do in this article. But, there is a twist.

Instead of just focusing on the simplistic and elegant glamour of that era, I decided to mix in a bit of culture into it: that is, I decided to integrate a few Ankara pieces to showcase that the African woman can still portray excellence in style by making their own.

1st

For this style, we a simple black dress that hugs the model’s body gorgeously. Then we have a classic fascinator that sits perfectly on her head, giving the model this demure but chic appeal. Following this is a pearl Necklace and white gloves that add to the ageless beauty that was the style of that golden era.

Finishing off the look, we have a pair of cute white block heels, and to top it all off I decided to add an Ankara printed shawl. I do love how it ties in with the elegance of the look.

What do you think?

2nd

This look is a bit less intense but still jaw-dropping. So we have the scarf, which wraps beautifully around her head, drawing you to her beau visage. The top with its intricate patterns is another Ankara piece, which I made by the way (do you guys like it?).

I love using gloves so I used them again but one of a different colour to make the whole look coherent and cohesive.

However, the red shoes bring that feeling of excitement that differs from the cool blue tones and I’m here for it!!

So what do you guys think about the outfits?

Would you like to incorporate some elements from the golden era into your style, or is it just not for you?

You guys are free to share your thoughts and more in the comment section below. I would love to see them and get a chance to interact with you, and if you have any question, just let me know.

That’s all from me, hope to talk to you soon. Bye for now my loves and be safe.

Published by

Chika Yvonne

So basically, I'm this quirky, fun-loving, crazy individual who is so in love with everything fashion and style! Join me on this fascinating journey into my personal fashion and style.

2 thoughts on “Going back to the 50s…but with Ankara”

Leave a comment